BG Image
BG Image BG Image BG Image BG Image BG Image

Frequently asked questions

Below you’ll find the answers to the most frequently asked questions.

If you would like to know more, or if you have another question, we’d love to hear from you. Get in touch with us through the contact form or on Facebook,.

Did you know that spice cake is a useful ingredient in a number of dishes? Find out all about this, from the recipes on our website.

Does spice cake contain a lot of sugar?

Spice cake does contain sugar. Sugar is a vital fuel for our bodies and brains and is absorbed relatively quickly by the body. That means that it’s best to eat spice cake when you will use this fuel. That could be at breakfast, as a snack in the morning or afternoon or when you are exercising and so on.

Fast sugars give you instant energy whereas slow sugars release energy over a longer time, so you access it more gradually.

What are the ingredients of spice cake?

The basic ingredients of our Belgian spice cake are rye flour, honey and/or another sugar syrup, spice cake (or cake trimmings) and spices. Yes, that’s right, you need spice cake to make spice cake! At Vondelmolen, we make several different varieties by adding chocolate, fruit or caramel for example.

Is there pepper in spice cake, as suggested by the Flemish name “peperkoek”?

These days, it is unusual for spice cake to contain pepper, but there are other spices in it.
In the middle ages, a lot of exotic spices (such as pepper) were very expensive and were attributed all sorts of medicinal properties. Trading 1 or 2 grams of these spices wasn’t practical. Which is why they were put into spice cake. That way you could buy small amounts of spices in easy to handle (and delicious!) pieces.

So the pepper in “peperkoek” refers more generally to the spices in the cake. Even in some Dutch-speaking places, “peperkoek” is also called “kruidkoek” (which translates literally as “spice cake”) and in French it is always called “pain d’épices”.

Is spice cake healthy?

No single foodstuff is healthy in itself. An apple is healthy, unless you eat too many, or if you don’t eat anything else.
It is very important to have a balanced diet, and to avoid eating too much of one food.

Spice cake is a source of fibre, it contains no fat and is a natural product. It also contains a lot of fast and slow-release sugars. That is why it’s best to eat spice cake when your body needs energy. At breakfast, during morning break at school or work, or when you are going to do exercise for example.

Most spice cake has a Nutri-Score of C.

Is spice cake more healthy than other cakes or biscuits?

Yes, a lot of cakes and biscuits contain a lot of (saturated) fats as well as sugar. Fat contains more calories than sugar.

A lot of cakes (even those for children) have a Nutri-Score of D or even E. Spice cake (which usually has a Nutri-Score of C) does contain fast and slow sugars, but hardly any fat.

Furthermore, the fibre in spice cake makes it filling. So, ultimately your hunger is satisfied with relatively few calories per portion.

Is spice cake good for athletes?

Yes, spice cake is a natural energy bar with fast and slow-release sugars and hardly any fat. So you get an instant energy boost, and the spice cake continues to release energy for a while after you have eaten it. Furthermore, spice cake is a delicious and natural product, and it costs a lot less than most energy bars.

Does spice cake aid regular bowel movements?

A lot of people claim that spice cake helps to get things moving. Although spice cake is a source of fibre, which does contribute to good digestion (https://www.voedingscentrum.nl/encyclopedie/vezels.aspx) it has never been proven that spice cake helps to relieve constipation. However, we also know a lot of people who swear by spice cake for this type of ‘trouble’.

Is spice cake vegetarian or vegan?

Spice cake is always vegetarian. There is no meat or fish in it. Some spice cakes do contain honey or milk powder however. So these spice cakes are not vegan.
We are currently looking into the precise requirements that would allow us to declare our products vegan.

Is spice cake gluten-free?

No, our spice cake is made with rye flour. As with most grains, rye also contains gluten.

You will find more information about the allergens in our products on the packaging, or here, on our website.

Does spice cake contain lactose?

Most of our spice cakes do not contain any milk products. A few spice cakes (for example Couque Dinant) contain milk powder, and therefore also lactose. These are made in the same establishment, which means the other spice cakes could also contain traces of lactose.

You will find more information about the allergens in our products on the packaging, or here, on our website.

Is there egg in spice cake?

Egg is never used in Belgian spice cake. This is partly why our spice cake has such a long shelf life. Some French spice cakes are made using egg, however. Obviously, this gives it a very different taste and texture.

Can you get sugar-free spice cake?

No. Sugar is an important ingredient of original spice cake. Sugar not only gives it its sweet flavour, it also gives the spice cake volume and has an effect on the other ingredients. So it isn’t easy to create the same product, without sugar. There are spice cakes on the market that contain less sugar.

What allergens are in spice cake?

In general, you will find gluten in our spice cake, from rye flour.

Nuts and milk are also used in some of our spice cakes. So you could also find traces of these, as well as lupin, in all of our spice cakes. More information on specific products can be found on the packaging.

Or take a look at our product page.

Is Vondelmolen Belgian?

We sure are! Vondelmolen was founded in 1867, in Lebbeke, East Flanders. Where we are still situated. So we are a thoroughly Belgian company. You can find out more information on Vondelmolen’s fascinating history on the history page.

I can't find my favourite spice cake in the shops anymore. Where can I get it?

The shop chains decide which spice cakes they want to stock. Some shops also offer extra spice cakes. We can’t always see which shops are selling which spice cakes. You can always ask your shop to start stocking the product (again). Some shops are happy to do this for their customers if possible.

How is spice cake made?

Spice cake is made from 3 basic ingredients: rye flour, honey and/or another sugar syrup and… spice cake. Indeed, we trim the sides from the large bars of spice cake after it has been baked and use them as an ingredient in the new batch of spice cake. This is needed to create the familiar taste and structure. Furthermore, it means there is very little food waste.

These cake “trimmings” and the sugar syrup are heated and mixed together, before being mixed in with the rye flour. This “mother dough” is then left to rest for around a week in large vats.

After that, the raising agents and any other ingredients (honey, fruit, nuts, spices etc.) are added. This “final dough” is divided between the baking trays and goes into the oven.
After baking, the spice cake then needs to rest for a day again, before being sliced and packaged.

Can you make spice cake yourself?

Yes, you can find all sorts of recipes on the internet for making your own spice cake. But making real Belgian spice cake isn’t that easy. Often you end up with something that is more like cake with spice-cake spices. That might be delicious of course, but if you want real spice cake, it’s best to buy it from the shops. For the price, why settle for anything less?

Is spice cake safe for pets ?

Yes, most spice cake is absolutely safe for pets.
There are some manufacturers that put xylitol in the spice cake to reduce the amount of sugar. This is a substance that is also often put into chewing gum. This substance is not harmful to humans, but it is very poisonous to dogs for example.

At Vondelmolen, we don’t use this substance. So you can treat your best friend to the occasional bit of spice cake, with a clear conscience.
Although, obviously spice cake should not be a part of your pet’s regular diet.

Do you make spice cake hearts too?

Yes we do. Spice cake hearts are a long-standing tradition that we, at Vondelmolen, want to preserve. During the festive season in particular, you can see our spice cake hearts in several shops.

How long has spice cake been around for?

Spice cake has been around in some form or other since ancient Egyptian times, when they made a cake from grain, spices and honey.
You can find out more about spice cake’s interesting history on our website.

Is there a difference between Belgian and Dutch spice cake?

Yes. Belgian and Dutch spice cake are clearly related to each other, and for the most part, share a common history. However, there are a few clear differences. There is more water in the Dutch version called “ontbijtkoek” (breakfast cake)  and it is much spicier. A bit of wheat is also often added to make it slightly softer.

Belgian spice cake also has a longer shelf life.

How many different types of spice cake are there?

Spice cake exists in several different types, sizes and weights. There are also other places in the world that have their own spice cake traditions. So there are many different types of spice cake. At Vondelmolen, we make Belgian spice cake, and a lot of other variations on that as well. In total, Vondelmolen currently makes more than 300 different versions.

BG Image
BG Image BG Image BG Image BG Image BG Image

Questions fréquentes

Ci-dessous vous trouvez les réponses sur les questions fréquemment posées.

Vous souhaitez plus d’explications ou vous avez d’autres questions ?

Faites-le nous savoir. Contactez-nous en utilisant le formulaire de contact ou via Facebook.

Saviez-vous que le pain d’épices est un ingrédient très intéressant dans de nombreux plats ? Découvrez-le dans les recettes sur notre site Internet

Le pain d'épices a-t-il une teneur élevée en sucre ?

Le pain d’épices contient en effet du sucre. Le sucre est un ‘combustible’ indispensable à notre corps et notre cerveau et il est relativement vite absorbé par notre corps. Cela signifie qu’il vaut mieux manger votre pain d’épices quand vous consommez ce ‘combustible’. Ce peut être au petit-déjeuner, en collation le matin ou l’après-midi, avant ou pendant une séance de sport…

Les sucres rapides vous donnent de l’énergie immédiate, tandis que les sucres lents libèrent de l’énergie sur une plus longue période.

Quels sont les ingrédients du pain d'épices ?

Les ingrédients de base de notre pain d’épices belge sont la farine de seigle, le miel et/ou un autre sirop de sucre, du pain d’épices (ou côté de pain d’épices) et des épices. En effet, il faut du pain d’épices pour préparer du pain d’épices ! Chez Vondelmolen, nous produisons également de très nombreuses variantes au chocolat, aux fruits, au caramel, etc.

Le pain d’épices contient-il du poivre ? (En néerlandais, pain d'épices se dit ‘peperkoek’ et ‘peper’ signifie ‘poivre’).

Aujourd’hui, le pain d’épices ne contient généralement pas (plus) de poivre, mais il contient d’autres épices.

Au Moyen-Âge, de nombreuses épices exotiques (comme le poivre) étaient très chères et toutes sortes de vertus médicinales leur étaient attribuées. Il n’était pas commode de vendre 1 ou 2 grammes de ces épices. C’est pour cette raison qu’elles étaient utilisées dans le pain d’épices, par exemple. Il était alors possible de vendre de petites quantités d’épices dans des morceaux faciles (et savoureuses !).

Le ‘peper’ de ‘peperkoek’ fait globalement référence aux épices du pain d’épices. Dans certaines régions, le pain d’épices est aussi appelé ‘kruidkoek’.

Le pain d'épices est-il sain ?

Aucun aliment n’est sain en soi. Une pomme est saine, jusqu’à ce que vous en mangiez trop ou jusqu’à ce que vous ne mangiez plus rien d’autre.
Il est très important d’avoir une alimentation variée et de ne pas manger trop d’un seul aliment.

Le pain d’épices est une source de fibres, il ne contient pas de matières grasses et c’est un produit naturel. Il contient également de sucres rapides et lents. C’est pourquoi il vaut mieux le consommer quand votre corps a besoin d’énergie. Par exemple au petit-déjeuner, pendant une pause à l’école ou au travail, avant d’aller faire du sport…

La plupart des pains d’épices ont un Nutriscore C.

Le pain d'épices est-il plus sain que d’autres biscuits ?

Oui, de nombreux biscuits contiennent aussi beaucoup de matières grasses (saturées), en plus du sucre. Les matières grasses sont nettement plus caloriques que le sucre.

Beaucoup de biscuits (destinés aux enfants également) ont un Nutriscore D, voire E. Le pain d’épices (généralement Nutriscore C) contient certes des sucres rapides et lents, mais pratiquement pas de matières grasses.

Les fibres du pain d’épices ont en outre un effet coupe-faim. En fin de compte, votre faim est donc calmée pendant un moment en ingérant relativement peu de calories par portion.

Le pain d'épices est-il bon pour les sportifs ?

Oui, le pain d’épices est une barre énergétique naturelle contenant des sucres rapides et lents et pratiquement pas de matières grasses. Il procure donc un boost énergétique immédiat et il libère encore de l’énergie pendant un moment après consommation. En outre, le pain d’épices est un produit savoureux et naturel et il coûte nettement moins cher que la plupart des barres énergétiques.

Le pain d'épices est-il bon pour le transit intestinal ?

Beaucoup prétendent que le pain d’épices aide à soulager la constipation. Bien que le pain d’épices soit une source de fibres contribuant bel et bien à une bonne digestion (https://www.voedingscentrum.nl/encyclopedie/vezels.aspx), il n’a jamais été prouvé que le pain d’épices aide effectivement en cas de constipation. Même si nous connaissons pas mal de gens qui ne jurent que par le pain d’épices quand ‘ça coince’.

Le pain d'épices est-il végétarien ou végan ?

Le pain d’épices est toujours végétarien. Il ne contient ni viande ni poisson. Certains pains d’épices contiennent du miel ou du lait en poudre. Ces pains d’épices ne sont donc pas végans.
À l’heure actuelle, nous nous renseignons sur les conditions exactes qui permettraient de qualifier nos produits de ‘végan’.

Le pain d'épices est-il ‘sans gluten’ ?

Non, notre pain d’épices est fabriqué avec de la farine de seigle. Comme la plupart des céréales, le seigle contient du gluten.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à propos des allergènes présents dans nos produits sur l’emballage ou, ici, sur notre site Internet.

Le pain d'épices contient-il du lactose ?

La plupart de nos pains d’épices ne contiennent pas de produits laitiers. Quelques-uns (p.e. la Couque Dinant) contiennent du lait en poudre et, donc, du lactose également. Ils sont fabriqués dans la même entreprise, ce qui signifie donc que les autres pains d’épices peuvent contenir des traces de lactose.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à propos des allergènes présents dans nos produits sur l’emballage ou, ici, sur notre site Internet.

Le pain d’épices contient-il des œufs ?

Le pain d’épices belge ne contient jamais d’œuf. C’est une des raisons pour lesquelles notre pain d’épices se conserve si longtemps. Certains pains d’épices français contiennent des œufs. Le goût et la texture sont alors évidemment très différents.

Existe-t-il du pain d'épices sans sucre ?

Non. Le sucre est un élément important du pain d’épices original. Le sucre procure non seulement le goût sucré, mais donne aussi du volume au pain d’épices et a une incidence sur les autres ingrédients. Il n’est donc pas si simple d’obtenir le même produit sans sucre. Il existe toutefois sur le marché des pains d’épices qui contiennent moins de sucre.

Quels sont les allergènes présents dans le pain d'épices ?

En général, on trouve surtout du gluten, issu de la farine de seigle, dans notre pain d’épices.

Quelques-uns de nos pains d’épices contiennent aussi des fruits à coque et du lait. Vous pouvez donc éventuellement en trouver des traces dans tous nos pains d’épices, tout comme des traces de lupin. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur l’emballage de chaque produit.

Ou jetez un œil sur notre page Produits.

Vondelmolen est-elle une entreprise belge ?

Absolument ! Vondelmolen a ouvert ses portes en 1867 à Lebbeke, en Flandre orientale. Nous y sommes toujours installés à l’heure actuelle. Nous sommes donc une entreprise 100 % belge. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur l’histoire fascinante de Vondelmolen sur la page Histoire.

Je ne trouve plus mon pain d'épices préféré en magasin. Où en trouver ?

Les chaînes de magasins décident elles-mêmes du ou des pains d’épices qu’elles proposent. Certains magasins proposent aussi des pains d’épices supplémentaires. Nous ne savons pas toujours quel magasin vend quel pain d’épices. Vous pouvez toujours demander dans votre magasin s’ils acceptent de (ré)intégrer le produit dans leur assortiment. Certains magasins le font volontiers pour leurs clients, si possible.

Comment est fabriqué le pain d'épices ?

Le pain d’épices se compose de 3 ingrédients de base : la farine de seigle, le miel et/ou un autre sirop de sucre et… du pain d’épices.

En effet, nous coupons les côtés des grandes barres de pain d’épices après cuisson et nous les utilisons comme ingrédient pour préparer du nouveau pain d’épices. Il est nécessaire de procéder de la sorte pour obtenir le goût et la structure que nous connaissons. En outre, cette méthode permet une perte très minime d’aliments.

Ces côtés et le sirop de sucre sont cuits, mixés et mélangés ensuite à la farine de seigle. Cette ‘pâte mère’ repose environ une semaine dans de grands bacs.

Les poudres à lever et éventuels autres ingrédients (miel, fruits, noix, épices…) y sont ensuite ajoutés. Cette ‘pâte finale’ est répartie sur des plaques de cuisson et enfournée. Après cuisson, le pain d’épices doit encore reposer une journée avant d’être découpé et emballé.

Est-il possible de préparer du pain d'épices soi-même ?

Oui, on trouve de nombreuses recettes sur Internet pour faire du pain d’épices soi-même. Il n’est toutefois pas si facile de faire du vrai pain d’épices belge. On obtient souvent plutôt une espèce de cake aux épices pour pain d’épices. Ceux-ci peuvent aussi être délicieux, mais, si on veut du véritable pain d’épices, il vaut mieux l’acheter en magasin. Pas d’inquiétude à avoir pour le prix…

Le pain d'épices convient-ils aux animaux domestiques ?

Oui, la plupart des pains d’épices sont absolument sans danger pour les animaux domestiques.
Certains fabricants mettent du xylitol dans leur pain d’épices pour réduire la quantité de sucre. C’est une substance qui est aussi utilisée dans le chewing-gum par exemple. Cette substance n’est pas nocive pour l’homme, mais elle est très toxique pour les chiens par exemple.
Nous n’utilisons pas cette substance chez Vondelmolen. Vous pouvez donc tranquillement récompenser le meilleur ami de l’homme avec un morceau de pain d’épices, même si le pain d’épices n’a évidemment pas sa place au menu quotidien de votre animal domestique.

Existe-il aussi des cœurs en pain d'épices ?

Évidemment, les cœurs en pain d’épices sont une longue tradition que nous aimons honorer chez Vondelmolen. Vous trouverez nos cœurs en pain d’épices dans différents magasins, en particulier pendant les fêtes de fin d’année.

Depuis quand le pain d'épices existe-t-il ?

Le pain d’épices existe sous l’une ou l’autre forme depuis l’Égypte ancienne. Les Égyptiens préparaient un gâteau à base de céréales, d’épices et de miel.
Vous en saurez plus sur la passionnante histoire du pain d’épices sur notre site Internet.

Y a-t-il une différence entre le pain d'épices belge et le pain d'épices hollandais ?

Oui. Le pain d’épices belge et le pain d’épices hollandais sont évidemment proches et ont une grande part d’histoire en commun. Toutefois, ils présentent quelques nettes différences. Aux Pays-Bas, le pain d’épices contient plus d’eau et il est nettement plus épicé. Souvent, on ajoute aussi un peu de blé pour le rendre plus moelleux. Le pain d’épices Belge à aussi une durée de vie beaucoup plus longue.

Combien de variétés de pain d'épices existe-t-il ?

Le pain d’épices existe en de nombreuses variétés, tailles et poids. Il y a aussi énormément de régions dans le monde qui ont leurs propres traditions de pain d’épices. Il existe donc des tas de variétés différentes de pain d’épices. Chez Vondelmolen, nous fabriquons du pain d’épices belge, dans de nombreuses variétés. Au total, Vondelmolen fabrique à l’heure actuelle plus que 300 références différentes.